Actual conversation I just had at the coffee shop:

(It’s 8:30 in the morning.)
Me: (Just making conversation.) What time do you guys open?
Super Italian Coffee Shop Owner: Seven thirty. What time do you open?
Me: Eleven.
Italian guy: So what are you doing here?
Me: Well, somebody stole our mailbox and on Friday the mailman got mad at me so I thought I should get here before he does.
Italian guy: Why did he get mad at you?
Me: I think it wrecked his whole morning routine.
Italian guy: (in super thick Italian accent) Well I’m-a mad at him. He-a keeps-a bringing me bills.

Do you ever walk away from a conversation and think about how weird and funny it is?

And now I’m sitting here at the tattoo shop, hours early, with all the blinds drawn, even though it’s still dark out so all the passers-by and looky-loos can look right in at me, so I can see when the mailman comes.

And I taped a sign where the mailbox used to be that says “I’m here, mailman.” With a smiley face underneath.

Uh, yeah. This is my life. ?

22 thoughts on “Actual conversation I just had at the coffee shop:

  1. Dude, at least you work at a tattoo place. That's way cooler than many have it!

    Oh, and I might have given you a little silly blog award over at my place! 🙂

  2. Dude, at least you work at a tattoo place. That's way cooler than many have it!

    Oh, and I might have given you a little silly blog award over at my place! 🙂

  3. Do you have to do this every day now? Until the thief brings the box back?

    Tomorrow morning I'll bring my hoop over and we can practice in front of the window. 🙂

  4. Do you have to do this every day now? Until the thief brings the box back?

    Tomorrow morning I'll bring my hoop over and we can practice in front of the window. 🙂

  5. Well no, I actually bought a new mailbox to put up, but then it turned out to be like eight inches too wide for the mailbox space so I have to return it and get a new one.

    No hoola hooping allowed within 50 feet of me. I have a restraining order.

  6. Well no, I actually bought a new mailbox to put up, but then it turned out to be like eight inches too wide for the mailbox space so I have to return it and get a new one.

    No hoola hooping allowed within 50 feet of me. I have a restraining order.

tell me something

